One Of Salsa’s Legendary Voices GILBERTO SANTA ROSA Releases Special Album In Celebration Of His Outstanding Musical Career 40…Y Contando En Vivo Desde Puerto Rico

Gilberto Santa Rosa releases 40…Y Contando En Vivo Desde Puerto Rico (40 and Counting, Live from Puerto Rico), a record that captures one of the most magical nights of his career – his February 17, 2018, concert at the Coliseo de Puerto Rico in San Juan.

This special album, which celebrates his 40-year career, is available in digital and CD formats.

Giving one of his best and most diverse performances, the five-time Latin GRAMMY® winner affectionately known as El Caballero de la Salsa returns to his native Puerto Rico to interpret 17 songs from his extensive body of work. Among them, such Billboard Tropical Songs chart-toppers as “Déjate Querer” (1999), “Que Alguien Me Diga” (2000), “La Agarro Bajando” (2001) and “Conteo Regresivo” (2007), along with his early big hits on Hot Latin Songs, when Billboard only published one chart for all Latin genres: “Vivir Sin Ella” (#13, 1990), “Conciencia” (#14, 1991), “Vino Tinto” (#33, 1992) and “Me Volvieron A Hablar De Ella” (#27, 1994) among others.

In addition, Gilberto pays tribute to the late Cuban singer-songwriter and percussionist Justi Barreto (1923-2015) with his version of Barreto’s song “Atrevida,featuring the 79-year-old tropical singer Paquito Guzmán.

Several other greats of Puerto Rican and tropical music joined Gilberto Santa Rosa on stage for this event. Among them, Willie Rosario, 89, the renowned salsa bandleader with whom Gilberto recorded early in his career; the pianist and composer Víctor García, with whom Gilberto recently released an album; the influential urban artist Vico C of Puerto Rico; and several prominent singers and songwriters of the romantic salsa movement, including Tito Nieves, Víctor Manuelle, Luis Enrique and Eddie Santiago. Interestingly, Gilberto and Víctor share the record for most #1 records on Billboard’s Tropical Albums chart.

In total, we can enjoy over 75 minutes of music as Gilberto delights us with his iconic voice and his guest turns on several instruments with his top-flight band.

The visual component of 40…Y Contando En Vivo Desde Puerto Rico premiered September 14, 2018, on HBO Latino. Starting 5/31, the videos will start being made available on Gilberto’s YouTube channel here.


  1. Opening
  2. Déjate Querer
  3. Conciencia
  4. Vino Tinto
  5. Amor De Los Amores feat. Víctor García
  6. Mentira
  7. Atrevida feat. Paquito Guzmán
  8. Agua Que Cae Del Cielo feat. Willie Rosario
  9. Sin Voluntad
  10. Me Volvieron A Hablar De Ella
  11. Qué Manera De Quererte
  12. Salsa Pa’ Olvidar Las Penas feat. Víctor Manuelle
  13. Vivir Sin Ella feat. Tito Nieves, Luis Enrique and Eddie Santiago
  14. Conteo Regresivo
  15. Perdóname / Lo Grande Que Es Perdonar, feat. Vico C
  16. Que Alguien Me Diga
  17. La Agarro Bajando